February 25, 2009

Tell Ottawa to Allow Atheist Bus Ads

City of OttawaImage via Wikipedia

I happen to think that the atheist bus ads appearing in many major cities around the world are a great idea, and I would like to see even more of them. Unfortunately, some cities have rejected the ads. I am posting the following at the request of a reader from Ottawa, Canada, one such city. It sounds like there is a reasonable chance that they will reconsider the ads if they hear from enough of us. I'm no Pharyngula, but I'd like to bring this to the attention of as many people as I can.

As I am sure you already know, Ottawa, Canada has rejected the "there probably is not god" bus ads. The good news is that City Councillor Alex Cullen will be moving to repeal the decision at the Council's March 11 meeting. I've asked him what I could do to help and he advised contacting the other Council members before the meeting,
asking them to allow the ads to be displayed.

As I am sure you know, the more people we have contacting them, the better. I have already posted on Atheist Nexus, but you have a great deal of readers and would be able to reach far more people than I ever could. I was hoping that you would consider posting about Ottawa's March 11 Council meeting and ask people to contact the Councillors.

Here is a link to the Councillors' contact information:
http://www.ottawa.ca/city_hall/mayor_council/councillors/index_en.html

To make things really easy, I've pulled together all their e-mail addresses:
Georges.Bedard@ottawa.ca, Michel.Bellemare@ottawa.ca,
Rainer.Bloess@ottawa.ca, Glenn.Brooks@ottawa.ca,
rick.chiarelli@ottawa.ca, Diane.Deans@ottawa.ca,
Steve.Desroches@ottawa.ca, Clive.Doucet@ottawa.ca,
Eli.El-Chantiry@ottawa.ca, Peggy.Feltmate@ottawa.ca,
Jan.Harder@ottawa.ca, Diane.Holmes@ottawa.ca, Peter.Hume@ottawa.ca,
Gord.Hunter@ottawa.ca, Rob.Jellett@ottawa.ca, Kitchissippi@ottawa.ca,
Jacques.Legendre@ottawa.ca, Maria.Mcrae@ottawa.ca,
Bob.Monette@ottawa.ca, Shad.Qadri@ottawa.ca, Doug.Thompson@ottawa.ca,
Marianne.Wilkinson@ottawa.ca, Alex.Cullen@ottawa.ca

Thank you very much for considering my request. Here's hoping for good
news on March 12!
I imagine that this is the sort of effort we will need to do more of if we want to see more of these bus ads.

Subscribe to Atheist Revolution


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Copyright © vjack and Atheist Revolution, 2005-2014. All rights reserved.